Sailing - Racing

The RMYC Toronto conducts yacht races most weeks during the year as follows:

Spring and Summer Saturdays

Sponsored by RMYC Toronto

The Sailing Section conducts pointscore races on Saturdays during Spring and Summer in two divisions – one spinnaker and one non-spinnaker. Typically starts begin at 1.25pm for bouy courses and 1.00pm for long courses.


Wednesday Twilights

Sponsored by Travelworld Toronto in conjunction with P&O Cruises – the 2013 / 2014 prize will be a 3 night P&O Comedy Cruise for 2.

During daylight saving time the Sailing Section conducts a twilight race at 5.00pm every Wednesday. Spinnakers are not allowed and a course is set in view of the club house.


Winter Saturdays

Sponsored by Marmong Point Marina

Winter racing is conducted on Saturdays starting at 1.00pm. A pointscore event with a scratch start using spinnakers is run every second Saturday with a sweepstake event (non spinnaker / handicap start) on the alternate weeks.


Winter Wednesdays

Sponsored by R A Mackay Yacht Brokerage

During Winter, a Wednesday pointscore is conducted every week starting at 2.00pm. Spinnakers are not allowed and a handicap start is used. Races have a two hour time limit and finishes when the leading yacht passes a course mark after 4.00pm. See the Sailing Instructions and Programme for more details.


R K Robertson Interclub Series

Sponored by R A Mackay Yacht Brokerage and Whitworths Marine and Leisure

The R K Robertson Interclub race series is a 3 race series held between The RMYC Toronto, The Lake Macquarie Yacht Club and The Wangi Amatuer Sailing Club with the clubs competing against each other as a team.


30 Miler

This is a race – as the name implies, of 30 nautical miles covering the north end of the lake and as far south as Pulbah Island and Sunken Rock. It is generally held on the last week in October and caters for 3 Divisions. Participation is invited from all the clubs around the lake.


Heaven Can Wait Regatta

The Heaven Can Wait (HCW) Charity Regatta is a unique event held in November with 3 handicap races in one made up of a One Lap Dash, a 12 Hour Race and a 24 Hour Race. Participation is invited from all clubs on the lake and intrastate and interstate entries. The event is scheduled to coincide with a weekend closest to a full moon.


Police and Emergency Services Regatta

Sponsored by the Police Credit Union and RMYC Toronto

The Police and Emergency Services regatta is usually held in November of each year and is made up of five races over 2 days with a complementary BBQ at the completion of each day. All races are non-spinnaker with two divisions – under 30 foot / over 30 foot.


Northshore Championships

Sponsored by Club Marine, Northshore Yachts, Acrocert, R M Group, Bob Fussel Marine Centre and R A MacKay Yacht Brokerage.

The Northshore Championships are usually held over a weekend in August and as the name implies, is for all boats manufactured by Northshore yachts including Cole 19 and 23 and Santana 30.


Short Course Regatta

Sponsored by RMYC Toronto

This regatta is a series of up to 3 short Windward Leeward courses all held on the same day. Details of scheduled days will appear in the Upcoming Regatta’s page of this site.


Further Information

For further information on Sailing and races please contact the Sailing office at:


Find Us On Facebook - 


Our Sponsors